A glass of lemonade.

​An odd part of being in the world of mental health, that I still find unsettling, is the way I meet with a pleasant professional who chats with me for half an hour or so. Then I get on with my life,  until a few months later a new diagnosis lands on my doorstep; no warning or conversation. Just a few words committing me to a new life sentence. 

And yes I understand it’s potentially not a life sentence, it’s potentially treatable. But so far I’ve been in treatment for over 2 years and I still fulfil the diagnostic criteria. And the next ‘possible’ diagnosis explains a lot but it is a life sentence, which I could do without. 

I feel the phrase “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade” is apt. Anyone fancy a glass? 

Leave a Reply

