September books

The Moses Code by James Becker. Bought from a charity shop and going straight back!

Digital fortress by Dan Brown. Better than The Moses Stone but I’m unable to recommend it.
Charity shop.

Under The Net by Iris Murdoch. Some fascinating insights into the fickleness of human affection. I’ve had this on my bookshelf for years and after re reading have decided to charity shop it.

The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern. Insightful in parts and funny. Interesting as the narration is different to any I’ve read before.
My favourite quote is on page 199.
“” Jimmy, when is the best time to plant a tree?”
“Yesterday” he says, then chuckles, the sadness still in his eyes. “Like everything else. Failing that, now.””
Charity shop.
(Please excuse my liberal punctuation, I’m definitely more of a creative punctuator than a purist)

Wild awake by Hilary T Smith. Interesting and enlightening about mental illness, the first and second hand experience of it. The characters stayed in my head afterwards although I didn’t feel the need to return to the book.

Smut by Alan Bennett. I picked this up in the library and sat down to flick through it. An hour and a half later I had finished it. Funny and entertaining.  I found that I often had to reread sentences as they seemed to lack conjunctions which would have made the writing make easier sense. I liked this ‘different’ way of structuring sentences.

Nothing holds back the night by delphine de vigan. An autobiographical novel by a child (now adult) of someone with bipolar.  It looks back through her mother’s childhood, what may have affected her and also the process the author went through to write the novel.
Personally I found the description of the impact of mental health episodes riveting “It had happened. It couldn’t be fixed” (pg 233) and that “for the weekend, the whole of herself was mobilised in order to cope”  (pg 237) being with her children, resounded in me. I remember being so unwell I couldnt stand to be in the room with my children for more than a few minutes; I felt swamped, unable to breathe and sure they would see through my feeble attempts at parenting; as if I was a fragile ornament hurtling towards the floor.
In the novel she quotes her mother’s writing and that took my breath away, “with them too i have no voice. I don’t know how to talk to them anymore” (pg 234) That cavernous silence that echoes within me when I’m unwell, when people need more than a smile and I have nothing more to give.

The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and The Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. So very similar to the films that i actually got confused between them! A fast and gripping read.

All the truth that’s in me by Julie Berry. A teen fiction novel but only because of the narrators age. The quality of the writing and clever strands of story that bond together creating the sense that you knew things before you read them but still leave you shocked by them. I had to pause and put the book down several times as I read it. I highly recommend it, give it a go!

Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels. I had high hopes from the reviews I read yet for some reason the novel didn’t hit the notes for me that it did for other readers. I found the language beautiful and enjoyed the subtleties of the writing but that was as far as it went. I’m glad I’ve finished reading it.

The List by Joanna Bolouri  . This was a fun and light hearted read. The characters were easy to like and I enjoyed reading it.

The man who forgot his wife by John o’farrell. Was a pleasant read. Is that a good or bad thing when that’s all ive got to say about it!

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey . Wow. A captivating and beautiful read . Am very grateful to my Mum for lending it to me.

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch. A very enjoyable read especially as I had no idea of the supernatural aspect to the novel when I began reading it. I knew a lot of the places which the book was set in so had a warm familiar feeling a lot. Well written and I wouldn’t avoid reading another of the series.

These are my September books, some I loved and will keep forever, others are library books and some will be dropped off at the local charity shop. Have you read any good books recently? What made you like them?

image

Leave a Reply

