Apparently I’m not sane enough for meditation…..

I arrived at Day Treatment ready for relaxation class, coat off, settled in my seat and ready to relax….

Her “Today is meditation”
Me ” Excuse me, isn’t this relaxation?”
Her “Didn’t you see the signs?”
Oh. Yes. Those many signs i read numerous times,
Me “no”
Her “Relaxation has been swapped for meditation”
Drat.
Me “I’m here so can I join in mediation?”
Her “Can I have a word outside?”
Uh oh, “sure” so I compliantly follow her outside.

“Have you ever experienced psychosis? Seeing or feeling things that aren’t real?”
“Umm….. yes, but doesn’t everyone?” I grin hopefully.
“No” (thanks for not holding back….) “I’m afraid you can’t do meditation as it may trigger psychosis for you”
Oh. I scrunch my eyes up. “Okay”

I walk back into the room and collect my bag and coat. The other participants look at me oddly so my anxiety based verbal diahorrea kicks in, “Apparently I’m not sane enough for meditation. Ha!” With great gusto I wish them good luck and an enjoyable session and drop the contents of my bag on the floor.

A side effect of anxiety must be clumsiness as I fail twice to get the contents of my bag put away as the room of people sit silently watching my social faux pas piling up. I finally leave the room with my arm full of stuff, an empty bag, impaired dignity and an unexpected free hour on my hands.

Time for a cup of tea…..

image

One thought on “Apparently I’m not sane enough for meditation…..

Leave a Reply

